The-Basics-of-Fiber-Polarity_Banner 657x150

Part One: The Basics of Fiber Polarity

Free Webinar: October 15, 2019 1:00PM EDT

(12:00PM CDT, 11:00AM MDT, 10:00AM PDT, 5:00PM GMT)

1 BICSI CEC  |  1 AVIXA RU

In this webinar:

Fiber Polarity Webinar Series

When designing and installing fiber optic cable networks, understanding the concept of polarity (the direction light signal travels through fiber) is crucial. If polarity isn’t maintained, signal degradation, damage to active equipment and unplanned downtime can occur.

This two-part webinar series gets you up to speed quickly on fiber polarity so you can be confident about system performance and uptime.

Part One: The Basics of Fiber Polarity

Before we get into details, it’s best to start from the beginning. The first webinar in the two-part series discusses what fiber polarity is, why it’s important, what TIA standards say about fiber polarity and best practices to follow to maintain it. Then we’ll delve into common challenges associated with achieving polarity in fiber optic systems, along with ways to overcome those obstacles. By the end of this webinar, you’ll understand how to achieve correct polarity every time.

To register for Part Two: Achieving Polarity in Advanced Fiber Architectures CLICK HERE

Part Two: Achieving Polarity in Advanced Fiber Architectures

Now that you understand the basics of fiber polarity and associated standards, this webinar will cover the factors that affect polarity, from fiber strand positioning to gender and orientation of key ways. You’ll also learn how to use a simple graphics system to reliably and easily plan and map out your complex fiber systems and channels to confidently achieve polarity.

After attending this two-part webinar series, integrators, contractors, engineers, consultants, installers and IT professionals will be able to:

  1. Explain what fiber polarity is, why it’s important and simple rules for implementing and achieving it in duplex and parallel systems.
  2. Describe what ANSI/TIA-568.3-D requires in terms of fiber polarity.
  3. Overcome the challenges associated with different polarity schemes: Method A, Method B and Method C.
  4. Plan and map out fiber optic systems, including optical budgets.

 

Henry Franc, RCDD, OSP, CDCP

National Solutions Specialist, Belden Inc.

henry-franc

Henry Franc RCDD OSP CDCP is a National Solutions Specialist for Belden, specializing in data centers and complex projects.  Henry has been involved with the industry for 20 years and is active within BICSI and TIA participating in standards development. His work within international standards crosses technologies and industry verticals.

 

For more than 100 years, customers who have required unsurpassed performance and durability for signal transmission have counted on the Belden brand. In the 20th century, that trust was built on high-performance wire and cable products.

Today, Belden designs, manufactures and sells a comprehensive portfolio of cable, connectivity and networking products for the transmission of signals for data, sound and video applications.

Henry Franc, RCDD, OSP, CDCP

National Solutions Specialist, Belden Inc.

henry-franc

Henry Franc RCDD OSP CDCP is a National Solutions Specialist for Belden, specializing in data centers and complex projects.  Henry has been involved with the industry for 20 years and is active within BICSI and TIA participating in standards development. His work within international standards crosses technologies and industry verticals.

 

For more than 100 years, customers who have required unsurpassed performance and durability for signal transmission have counted on the Belden brand. In the 20th century, that trust was built on high-performance wire and cable products.

Today, Belden designs, manufactures and sells a comprehensive portfolio of cable, connectivity and networking products for the transmission of signals for data, sound and video applications.